Last year I published volume 1 of Art And Commit messages and sold nearly 50 copies! For my first zine, I was ecstatic that so many people were willing to spend $3 on something so unknown. I have already started thinking about Volume 2 and think that it will be a great thing to publish at WordCamp US. I’m also thinking it might make sense to include some different things this time.

Art by more Artists

Volume 1 featured my art, for Volume 2 I would like to feature the art by more artists. I am also thinking of budgeting a small amount so that artists are compensated, but as Volume 1 didn’t make any money I think this is going to be a low amount. Maybe $50 for each piece.

Are you interested in having your artwork featured in Art and Commit Messages? Let me know:

Essays by More Writers

Along the same lines, I want to feature a couple of essays about commit messages from a variety of people. What kind of essays would you like to see in volume 2?

Finally, I want to figure out some sort of game to include. Maybe I loved reading Highlights for Children too much as a kid, but I think a game would be fun.

Art and Commit Messages: Strange Bedfellows

Art and Commit Messages might feel like an odd combination but the best of both are snapshots that convey an intent. Art transposes the emotion of the creator to an audience. It can transport you into the brain of the artist. The best commit messages similarly transport you into the brain of the creator. They share the coders intent.

That’s the message from the cover of volume 1. I absolutely recognize the odd combination, but they are two things that I care about and I hope that by combining these two strange bedfellows I can encourage people to write better commit messages.

Overall, my goal remains to encourage high quality commit messages through education, entertainment, and an understanding of history. I’m not looking to make money, if I was I wouldn’t be making a zine.

Do you have other ideas for making Art and Commit Messages better? Leave a comment or get it touch and let me know!