36 is the smallest square triangular number other than one. Its also the sum of the letters and the numerals, so its a pretty fun number. Let’s hope it’s a pretty fun year.

35 was a hard year, mostly because it’s the year my mom died. Frankly, the time leading up to and the time since, it’s been the defining event. I feel incredibly lucky that I was able to see my mom just about every month last year and also that I spent her final few weeks caring for her. It was hard, but it was worth it.

That’s not to say 35 was all bad. 35 saw me switch to a new job that I thus far really enjoy. It’s much more of a management position than I was in previously and that had brought new and different challenges. It’s also reinforced my belief that one of my superpowers is that I’m really good in meetings.

I saw some incredible art over the last year. I had a goal for 2018 to see all of the Met, and essentially did. I discovered some incredible off the beaten patch parts of the museum, including so much architecture and furnishings. The baseball card exhibits have also been a lot of fun.

My museum memberships increased this last year, I now am a member at MoMA, The Met, The Whitney, and The Guggenheim. It feels great to be able to see so much art and also to share it with friends.

For 36, I hope to make a trip specifically to visit an art museum (so many to choose from, where should I go?). I hope I also get a chance to remind my friends and family how much I love them. It would be good to get better at staying in touch, something I struggle with.

For my own art, I painted my largest painting yet, did a multi-panel piece related to baseball, and painted Javascript, deeply. I’ve also started exploring digital art more and published my first zine.

If you are feeling generous, I would love if you supported one of my favorite non-profits.

I’ve previously blogged 3534322928.