Inspired by O’reilly’s Four Short Links, here are some of the things I’ve seen, read, or watched recently.

Leukemia has won

WordPress has allowed me the opportunity to meet hundreds of people first online and then offline, but Alex “Viper007Bond” was the first. When I first started getting involved in WordPress, I spent many late nights in the IRC #wordpress channel on freenode, at first seeking help but then providing it. Viper was commonly there helping others and likely answered more than a few questions of mine as well. He’s been publicly battling leukemia for 2.5 years. His blog is a great tale of the ups and downs of cancer. Alex and those that care about him are in my thoughts right now.

Kevin Beasley: A view of a Landscape

On view at the Whitney until 10 March, this exhibit on the top floor is one encompassing sound and visuals. Featuring the motor from a cotton gin and giant sculptures with Cotton, it explores race, history and the evolution of America.

Writing CSS Algorithms

Lara has done more to change my opinions on CSS than anyone else. This post is a companion piece to a talk she gave at WordCamp US and one that everyone web developer should read.

Pento hits 1000 Commits

13 people have made over 1000 commits to WordPress core over the past nearly 16 years. Gary Pendergast joined the club during the 5.1 release. Overall, there have been 44767 commits so Gary’s count only represents 2.2% of the total activity.

Four Short Things is a series where I post a small collection of links to art, news, articles, videos and other things that are interesteing me. Follow my RSS feed to see Four Short Things whenver it comes out.