Inspired by O’reilly’s Four Short Links, here are some of the things I’ve seen, read, or watched recently.

100+ Lessons Learned for Project Managers

I am a firm believer that software and web development can learn a lot from other disciplines. Much as Akin’s Laws of. Spacecraft Design can be easily modified for the web, I think these lessons from Jerry Madden, the former Associate Director of Flight Projects at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, can also be valuable. One that stood out to me, since it seems so incredible accurate, is lesson #14.

The first sign of trouble comes from the schedule or the cost curve. Engineers are the last to know they are in trouble. Engineers are born optimists.

Lesson #14

Untitled by Mark Rothko

Mark Rothko is often thought of for his large “multiform” colorful paintings, but The Met’s Epic Abstraction show also includes a few of his watercolors. It’s a nice reminder to not be siloed into what we are most known for. Overall, this show lives up to its name and features many epic pieces of abstract art. It has no end date currently scheduled, but I have a feeling that it will depend on the construction of a new modern wing.

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

When this first came out, I watched the first two episodes but never really fell into it. Then over the last month my entire family seems to have all watched this separately. It’s funny, sad, and displays the same level of intellectual dialague that Amy Sherman-Palladino displayed with Gilmore Girls.

Anatomy of a Dress Shoe

Over the last four years, I’ve gone from regularly using one pair of shoes to having a number in regular rotation. I’ve mostly bought them second hand, but I’ve also taken the time to learn about Goodyear Welts, and even got one pair resoled. Shoes are one of the most important articles of clothing that we ware and this overview will help you undersyand the varius parts of the shoe.