I came into WordPress like a lot of people: I wanted a blog. I tried blogspot and it was lacking, so I googled around and discovered WordPress.  This was 2007, WordPress 2.2 had just been released. Widgets were the hot new thing. Tags were still a few months away from being added to core. It was an entirely different WordPress than we have today.

WordPress has had a giant impact on my every facet of my life since then. In just the last week, I organized a last minute Happy Hour for a friend I made because of WordPress. I sat at the house of a friend enjoying the company of him and his family because I got involved with WordPress. I started a job I got because I got involved in WordPress. I took a friend out for a drink who I met because of WordPress. I wore a bow tie that was given to me with a WordPress logo because I got involved in WordPress. I stayed up entirely too late making Art to celebrate WordPress because I got involved in WordPress.

Above you’ll find 15 mono prints I made in celebration of WordPress’s 15th anniversary. Inspired by the WordPress logo, I based the text on Dalliance, Jason Santa Maria’s inspiration for the original W, before cutting the linoleum and making each print. For the Blue, Black, Orange, and Grey, I used printmaking ink. The green is acrylic paint. I then splatter painted till I was happy with the effect. Each print is hand numbered and signed on both the mat and the back of the print.

Over the coming weeks, I’m hoping to send a few of these off to some of the people who have influenced me the most in the WordPress community. I also think I’ll throw one or two on ebay to raise some money for charity. Comment below if you want me to update you when I do so.

I continue to remain optimistic about the long term success of WordPress. I’m writing this in Gutenberg, where I’ve written almost all my posts over the last year. Five years ago I went to JSConf and the reaction of many people towards hearing I worked on WordPress was that it was amateur. This last week I went to a CSS meetup and the reaction to people hearing I worked on WordPress was respect. Always bet long on WordPress. 

I previously blogged WordPress’s 10th anniversary and hope to blog it’s 20th as well.