This is my fifth tetrahedral number birthday and me second consecutive semi-prime birthday. As a multiple of five, it’s also a “round number”.

Thirty Four was a year that I continued my growth as an artist. I regularly painted, sketched, and played with colors and shapes. I’ve started experimenting with block printing, and set up aaron.jorb.in to be the home of my art. I have art hanging in my friend’s homes. As a thirty five year old, it would be cool to have someone I don’t know own my art. Seems like a good goal.

From a professional perspective, Thirty Four was mostly a stable year. I spent time launching a new brand and relaunching another. My contributions to WordPress continued, but at a much slower pace. I helped organize the flagship WordPress conference and a new event focused on the intersection of WordPress and Publishing.  The next one is accepting speaker submissions for the next few days. Most importantly, I’ve set Thirty Five up to be an incredible year on the professional front.

One of my biggest personal accomplishments was being elected to the board for a non-profit I’ve volunteered with since I graduated college. Additionally, I got to see a childhood best friend get married at an amazing camping wedding, become an uncle for the first time (I can’t express how happy I am for my brother and sister-in-law) and had my first Christmas Morning celebration with two amazing kids and some of my best friends.

I’m excited for Thirty Five on so many fronts. I’m excited to see more amazing art as I work on my 2018 goal of seeing everything at The Met, while continuing to enjoy MoMA and making it to some of the other museums in town as well. I’m excited for the art that I’m going to make. And I’m excited for everything I have lined up from a professional perspective. Cheers to 35 years with me. I’m going nowhere but up!

I’ve previously blogged 34, 32, 2928.