It’s even more important than usual for privileged allies to be good allies right now.  I’m “safe” compared to many others since it’s my beliefs that are under attack, not me as a person. Being a good ally isn’t easy; I know I get things wrong. But here is what I am trying to do in order to be a good ally online.

  1. Amplify the voices that aren’t being heard.  I’m trying to make sure that if a marginalized person says something I think is worth being heard that I share it.
  2. Be a little less worried about being a white knight and come to the defense of marginalized people that are attacked. I’m making sure I don’t talk over people. And I’m trying to be respectful.
  3. Thanking, congratulating and supporting. It’s not easy to be on the front lines and so when people are, I’m trying to make sure they know the work they do is appreciated.

In person, I’m trying to be an emotional support person for friends that need it. I’m wearing my feminist shirts to show other men that there it’s ok to be feminist.

Also, every time I get really pissed off, I donate to Planned Parenthood, the ACLU, and other organizations to make sure they can do the work the country needs them to do.

I’m sure I can do more, and I’ll figure out how.  But for now, that’s me.  What are you doing to be an ally?