Five years ago today, my first patch was accepted to WordPress core. Oh how the time has flown.

This last year has been one of my most exciting years as a part of the WordPress contributor community. At the end of September, I was given commit access to WordPress Core. I was excited to join a group that includes some of the smartest people I know, while also being terrified at the responsibility being handed to me. It’s been fun so far.

One of the coolest things in WordPress core that I worked on this year is the “Log Out of Other Sessions” button on the bottom of users profile screens. This seems like a simple button, but adding this iteration (which was a part of the 4.1 release) was the result of live user testing I organized as a part WordCamp San Francisco 2014.

In celebration, I made two commits to core today. One of them was to start user testing WordPress with PHP 7. I’m excited to see how we perform vs. the nightly builds there. The other introduced a new version of grunt-patch-wordpress which is one of my favorite parts of WordPress that I’ve been able to spearhead.

I’m lucky to share my committiversary with my partner who got her first props one year ago. I’m even more lucky that WordPress helped me meet her.

Five years of contributing is a long time. I’m especially happy that five years in, I’m more excited than ever to help build the software that powers so much of the web. Here is to another five years!