WordCamp Philly 2011 is over, but it is definitely one of those conferences that will keep on giving.  I saw some great sessions and met some incredibly people.  Some of the highlights (besides the pumpkin cannoli french toast) for me were:

  • Adding A Social ‘Stache: BuddyPress, bbPress And Beyond by Doug Stewart. Doug had a great theme (Moustache and Movember) and wove it to tell the story of the current state of some of the popular WordPress social plugins.
  • Andrew Nacin presenting about meta caps and how he bends the user system to his whim. While he might not blog often, he knows WordPress inside and out and explained this api in a way that was easy to grok.
  • Editing the Visual Editor by Jake Goldman. This was a sequel of sorts to a talk I’ve seen Jake do before, and he really hit this one out of the park. I’m excited to play with wp_editor.
  • Getting Support in an Open Source World by Andrew Spittle. Spittle definitely took the “Teach a man to fish” approach to this talk. I think the users in this talk will be better able to help themselves (and help other) after seeing this speech
  • The developer day was a huge success. There are a few new core contributors to WordPress and plenty of people worked on tickets to solve pet problems and make other enhancements.
  • My presentation on Moving Beyond jQuery and into JavaScript seemed to go over very well. I was able to talk about my Distraction Free Writing Vim Keybindings plugin that I’ve been working on and released a small plugin that Changes the escape key in Distraction Free Writing to save instead of exit.

Anthony, Brad, Doug, and the entire team they put together deserve a huge pat on the back for such a great event.