I’ve got a great idea for a WordPress plugin, but I don’t have the time to build it any time soon, so I though I would throw it out here with the hope that someone will take care of building it for me. I call it: Yet Another Form Plugin. Except unlike other contact form plugins, this one is going to make use of the WordPress API. Here’s the basic idea structure. If you decided to build this, please let me know. Also feel free to comment below if you have questions or a better implementation idea.

So there is no confusion this idea is licensed under the terms of the GPL v2. Please derive something from it 🙂

Essentially each form is a custom post type that we’ll call yafp_form. For the form, we will store a whole bunch of meta data. Essentially every field of the form will be a serialized array. This leads to endless types of fields you can have in the form. Each form also gets a free title, free description (main body). The owner of the form thus becomes the defacto receiver of the form. But we can also leverage the metadata to add more if we want.

For the actual form, all the new filters in the comment_form function can be leveraged. Also, since comment_form accepts a specific post as a parameter, we can easily create a form widget.

Yep, it’s just that simple. I imagine it’s only a matter of time before someone builds this. Hopefully it’s you.

That’s my free plugin idea. I hope someone uses it. If no one does, maybe I’ll get around to this in the next few months.